Love in Color

I remember seeing his name and phone number

scribbled on a crumpled napkin

I remember his name was blue

with all the freedom of the ocean

and comfort of a worn pair of jeans

I remember the waves of gold

that drifted through the air

as he spoke

and his laugh

that sent light green spirals

down the walls

I remember the first “I love you” was pink

with all the whimsy of cotton candy at a street fair

I remember when we yelled at each other

maroon triangles flew across the room

I remember the door slamming behind him

there was a brown spike that pierced the air

then nothing

nothing but a handful of rainbow memories

to fill the grey silence that hung

like clothes on a clothesline heavy with water

nothing but a blue name

on a crumpled napkin

Leave a Reply

